Do you own a Debenu Quick PDF Library version 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 or iSEDQuickPDF license? Upgrade to Debenu Quick PDF Library 14 today!

Debenu Quick PDF Library - PDF SDK Community Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > For Users of the Library > I need help - I can help
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Setting table column widths to accomodate contents
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Setting table column widths to accomodate contents

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Beginner
Beginner

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dave K Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Setting table column widths to accomodate contents
    Posted: 03 May 19 at 3:28PM
Hello,

I am new to Debenu quick pdf library. I am writing software for my company that involves extracting data from Excel files and ultimately producing PDF documents that among other contents contain tabular data. At first I was thinking that I would have to be writing strings of text out on to a page and manually drawing the table cells... Then I found out about using tables built into the library...

If I create a table with several columns and then populate the cells with strings of various lengths, is there a built in way to set the column widths to accommodate the longest width needed for a cell in that column? Or must I first iterate over the strings and use e.g. GetHTMLTextWidth() to find the longest before creating the table?

Or is it recommended to set the column widths using SetTableColumnWidth() dynamically as the data is added - using the longest so far measured value?
Ingo View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ingo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 19 at 11:01PM
Hi Dave,

After using DrawHTMLText...
https://www.debenu.com/docs/pdf_library_reference/DrawHTMLText.php
...you can use GetHTMLTextWidth...