Do you own a Debenu Quick PDF Library version 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 or iSEDQuickPDF license? Upgrade to Debenu Quick PDF Library 14 today!

Debenu Quick PDF Library - PDF SDK Community Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > For Users of the Library > I need help - I can help
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Form field data not visible
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Form field data not visible

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
petefeyerherd View Drop Down
Beginner
Beginner


Joined: 02 Nov 05
Location: Chicago
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote petefeyerherd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Form field data not visible
    Posted: 15 Dec 10 at 11:23PM
Using QuickPDFAX0722
 
After reviewing several posts that recommended using SetNeedAppearances and UpdateAppearanceStream, still no visible form field data.
 
Used FlattenFormField, then the form field data was visible on the form
 
    lngFieldCount = objPDFform.FormFieldCount()
    For intField = 1 To lngFieldCount
        tmpFieldName = objPDFform.GetFormFieldTitle(intField)
      If txtFieldTitle = tmpFieldName Then
'        lngReturn = objPDFform.SetNeedAppearances(1)
        lngReturn = objPDFform.SetFormFieldValue(intField, txtFieldValue)
'        lngReturn = objPDFform.UpdateAppearanceStream(intField)
        lngReturn = objPDFform.FlattenFormField(intField)
        Exit For
      End If
    Next intField
 
Should you have to use FlattenFormField to update the fields
Back to Top
Ingo View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 05
Status: Offline
Points: 3524
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ingo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Dec 10 at 7:08AM
Hi Pete!

Perhaps it's only unvisible?
-> SetFormFieldVisible

Cheers, Ingo

Back to Top
Dimitry View Drop Down
Team Player
Team Player


Joined: 18 Feb 10
Status: Offline
Points: 37
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dimitry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jan 11 at 11:07PM
Hi Pete,
 
Can you link us the problem PDF file? 
Regards,
Dmitry
Back to Top
petefeyerherd View Drop Down
Beginner
Beginner


Joined: 02 Nov 05
Location: Chicago
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote petefeyerherd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jan 11 at 9:54PM
Back to Top
Dimitry View Drop Down
Team Player
Team Player


Joined: 18 Feb 10
Status: Offline
Points: 37
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dimitry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jan 11 at 1:22PM
There are three kinds of PDF form documents: AcroForm, XFA and AcroForm/XFA.
This PDF is AcroForm/XFA. 
It contains both AcroForms and XFA fileds, that means that they should be managed accordingly.
 
First we need to check the type of PDF forms: 
  if (FormFieldCount() <> 0) and (GetXFAFormFieldCount() <> 0) then
we have AcroForm/XFA;
  else if FormFieldCount() <> 0 then
we have AcroForm;
  else if GetXFAFormFieldCount() <> 0 then
we have XFA.
 
And after this we need to use AcroForm and XFA functions to change both field types.
Please check this Form fields function group to see what XFA management functions are provided by Quick PDF Library.
 
 
Regards,
Dmitry
Back to Top
petefeyerherd View Drop Down
Beginner
Beginner


Joined: 02 Nov 05
Location: Chicago
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote petefeyerherd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 11 at 8:10PM
So are you saying that I need to use both
 
SetXFAFormFieldValue and SetFormFieldValue to update the field or is there a function that indicates the field type?
 
Thanks.
Back to Top
Ingo View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 05
Status: Offline
Points: 3524
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ingo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 11 at 8:58PM
Hi!

If GetXFAFormFieldCount() returns with a value > 0 you should use SetFXAFormFieldValue...
If FormFieldCount() returns with a value > 0 you should use SetFormFieldValue...

Cheers, Ingo

Back to Top
Dimitry View Drop Down
Team Player
Team Player


Joined: 18 Feb 10
Status: Offline
Points: 37
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dimitry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jan 11 at 7:50PM

And if both FormFieldCount() <> 0 and GetXFAFormFieldCount() <> 0 you should change values of both fields accordingly...

Please see this KB article about XFA form fields for more information.
 
Regards,
Dmitry
Back to Top
edir View Drop Down
Beginner
Beginner


Joined: 26 Jan 11
Location: Lecco - Italy
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote edir Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jan 11 at 9:42AM
Hi,
I've got the same problem, i must complile a few fields then prin document, but the document printed have no field....

can you help me please??

GetXFAFormFieldCount() --> 1
FormFieldCount() --> 5

but GetXFAFormFieldName(1)  -->  ""

I'm using a trial version to valutate if it's possible to buy for my work

thank's in advance
Edy Rossi

PS: excuse me for my bad english Embarrassed
Back to Top
Dimitry View Drop Down
Team Player
Team Player


Joined: 18 Feb 10
Status: Offline
Points: 37
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dimitry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jan 11 at 12:11PM
Hi Edy,
 
The problem PDF sample would be great, as usually.
 
Regards,
Dmitry
Back to Top
quickpdf_learner View Drop Down
Beginner
Beginner


Joined: 15 Oct 10
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote quickpdf_learner Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 May 11 at 7:11PM
I have the exact problem, while I am using purchased 7.24 version. Please advise how to print out the forms with filled in fields.
Thanks.
 
Originally posted by edir edir wrote:

Hi,
I've got the same problem, i must complile a few fields then prin document, but the document printed have no field....

can you help me please??

GetXFAFormFieldCount() --> 1
FormFieldCount() --> 5

but GetXFAFormFieldName(1)  -->  ""

I'm using a trial version to valutate if it's possible to buy for my work

thank's in advance
Edy Rossi

PS: excuse me for my bad english Embarrassed
Back to Top
Ingo View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 05
Status: Offline
Points: 3524
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ingo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 May 11 at 8:50PM
Hi!

Please read in the online-reference the parts regarding:
SetNeedAppearances,
UpdateAppearanceStream and
FlattenFormField...
http://www.quickpdflibrary.com/help/quickpdf/FormFields.php

And try the formfield-part in the demo-app.
http://www.quickpdflibrary.com/blog/2009/10/a-customizable-demo-for-quick-pdf-library/

Cheers, Ingo



Edited by Ingo - 11 May 11 at 8:53PM
Back to Top
edir View Drop Down
Beginner
Beginner


Joined: 26 Jan 11
Location: Lecco - Italy
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote edir Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 11 at 10:09AM

wow fantastic... Tongue

this is the way in VB6 (suppose that field name of PDF is "Text1"):

.......
Dim idxField as long
Const FlagON = 1
......
'general setting
PDFLibrary.SetNeedAppearances FlagON
PDFLibrary.UpdateAppearanceStream FlagON         
'field index retreve
idxField = PDFLibrary.FindFormFieldByTitle("Text1")           
'field setting
PDFLibrary.SetFormFieldPrintable idxField , FlagON
PDFLibrary.SetFormFieldValue idxField , "My new string in field"
PDFLibrary.SetFormFieldReadOnly idxField , FlagON
.....
 
thank you very much Ingo
 
bye bye
Edy
Back to Top
quickpdf_learner View Drop Down
Beginner
Beginner


Joined: 15 Oct 10
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote quickpdf_learner Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 11 at 9:36PM
After UpdateAppearanceStream and SetNeedAppearances were used, some textfields (not all) can be printed out. Very strange,  for example, I have a form with accountholdername and address textfields, only address textfields data are printed out, while accountholdername textfield data is not.
If FlattenFormField is used, the form can not be generated!
 
Originally posted by Ingo Ingo wrote:

Hi!

Please read in the online-reference the parts regarding:
SetNeedAppearances,
UpdateAppearanceStream and
FlattenFormField...
http://www.quickpdflibrary.com/help/quickpdf/FormFields.php

And try the formfield-part in the demo-app.
http://www.quickpdflibrary.com/blog/2009/10/a-customizable-demo-for-quick-pdf-library/

Cheers, Ingo

Back to Top
Ingo View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 05
Status: Offline
Points: 3524
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ingo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 11 at 10:02PM
Hi!

It will be anywhere in the mixed formfield bunch with XFA and normal fields together.
You should upload your pdf anywhere and post the url ... then we can check if anybody wants.

Cheers, Ingo


Edited by Ingo - 12 May 11 at 10:02PM
Back to Top
edir View Drop Down
Beginner
Beginner


Joined: 26 Jan 11
Location: Lecco - Italy
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote edir Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 May 11 at 7:42AM
I confirm, field is compiled and stored on PDF but when i use print command field is not present on paper, but if i open pdf with acrobar reader there is all field compiled
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.01
Copyright ©2001-2014 Web Wiz Ltd.

Copyright © 2017 Debenu. Debenu Quick PDF Library is a PDF SDK. All rights reserved. AboutContactBlogSupportOnline Store