Do you own a Debenu Quick PDF Library version 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 or iSEDQuickPDF license? Upgrade to Debenu Quick PDF Library 14 today!

Debenu Quick PDF Library - PDF SDK Community Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > For Users of the Library > I need help - I can help
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - File PDF is too large
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

File PDF is too large

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Marco View Drop Down
Team Player
Team Player


Joined: 09 Nov 10
Location: Livorno
Status: Offline
Points: 40
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Marco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: File PDF is too large
    Posted: 30 Aug 17 at 2:34PM
Hi,
 
I've a problem when I create a pdf with more 100.000 pages (only text).
 
This file is over 1.4 GB and it's too large.
 
So, I've tryed to generate a pdf with more 3000 pages to do some tests:
 
After the creation of this file, If I print the same file with pdf creator or with Microsoft pdf printer the size of the new file becomes more then half size.
 
Why?
 
Thanks,
regards
Back to Top
Marco View Drop Down
Team Player
Team Player


Joined: 09 Nov 10
Location: Livorno
Status: Offline
Points: 40
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Marco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Sep 17 at 2:53PM
Hi,
 
some news about it?
 
I've the same problem in extraction of pages from a PDF..
Back to Top
tfrost View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 06 Sep 10
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 144
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote tfrost Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Sep 17 at 9:35PM
If you are not using the DA functions, the whole file has to be loaded into memory to process.  For a file size of 1.4GB this might mean that your process memory space is near to or over the limit.

Please tell us (1) what programming language you are using; (2) what version of QPDF; (3) whether you are using the direct access function set or not; (4) whether you are developing a 32-bit or a 64-bit application; (5) what steps you are already taking to compress or minimize the size of the file; (6) what error messages you are seeing, if any.  Then someone may be able to offer some advice.  Without this information there is not much that anyone can say.
Back to Top
Marco View Drop Down
Team Player
Team Player


Joined: 09 Nov 10
Location: Livorno
Status: Offline
Points: 40
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Marco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Sep 17 at 1:44PM

(1) what programming language you are using;

Visual Studio 2013

(2) what version of QPDF;

Ver 13.12

(3) whether you are using the direct access function set or not;

I use both functions

(4) whether you are developing a 32-bit or a 64-bit application;

32 bit

(5) what steps you are already taking to compress or minimize the size of the file;

I use, for example, oQP.CompressContent()

(6) what error messages you are seeing, if any.

I've no error.

Back to Top
Ingo View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 05
Status: Offline
Points: 2599
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ingo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 17 at 10:15PM
Hi Marco,

there are other compress options, too:
http://www.debenu.com/docs/pdf_library_reference/DocumentProperties.php
The compress functionalities works only for things you're putting inside - not things which are already inside in an existing document.
Please read this,too:
http://www.debenu.com/kb/can-i-compress-my-pdf/

Cheers,
Ingo

Back to Top
Marco View Drop Down
Team Player
Team Player


Joined: 09 Nov 10
Location: Livorno
Status: Offline
Points: 40
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Marco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Sep 17 at 8:19AM
Thanks Ingo,
 
I use
oQP.CompressContent
oQP.CompressImages(1)
oQP.CompressFonts(1)
 
But I've no results (my PDF is created without other external components..).
Back to Top
Ingo View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 05
Status: Offline
Points: 2599
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ingo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Sep 17 at 9:34PM
WHILE creating the new pdf with QuickPDF you can use the compress functionalities.
Using already made pdf-files won't work.
Cheers,
Ingo

Back to Top
Marco View Drop Down
Team Player
Team Player


Joined: 09 Nov 10
Location: Livorno
Status: Offline
Points: 40
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Marco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Oct 17 at 8:08AM
I use these functionalities during creation of my pdf..the external components is the text that i take from another text file..so i don't know why the result is so big..
Back to Top
Ingo View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 05
Status: Offline
Points: 2599
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ingo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Oct 17 at 7:20PM
Perhaps an answer with your relevant code would help?
Actually it's like looking into a glass bowl ;-)

Cheers,
Ingo

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.01
Copyright ©2001-2014 Web Wiz Ltd.

Copyright © 2017 Debenu. Debenu Quick PDF Library is a PDF SDK. All rights reserved. AboutContactBlogSupportOnline Store