Do you own a Debenu Quick PDF Library version 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 or iSEDQuickPDF license? Upgrade to Debenu Quick PDF Library 14 today!

Debenu Quick PDF Library - PDF SDK Community Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > For Users of the Library > General Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

DACapturePage Reliability

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Beginner
Beginner

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote brandon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: DACapturePage Reliability
    Posted: 16 May 07 at 3:19PM
I have been using QuickPDF for a few years now and I understand the complexities of extracting text, memory issues, rendering etc. To be honest, I would not want to depend on QuickPDF for certain functions (especially rendering).

But, for those who have the source code (and understand it), how reliable is DACapturePage? I am considering using it in an automated environment with a wide variety of PDF's to handle imposition. I just don't want to go down that path if DACapturePage (and DADrawCapturedPage) is a complex portion of the code and cannot be relied upon.

Thanks in advance,

Brandon
brandon View Drop Down
Beginner
Beginner

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote brandon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 May 07 at 12:29PM
Well, I got no response so I'll respond to myself. I have tested about 50 different PDF's generated from several different applications. So far only 1 PDF was unreadable after processing. Here is what I am doing:

DAOpenFile
DANewPage
DASetPageSize (of new page)
DAFindPage (find 1st page)
DACapturePageEx (1st Page)
DADrawCapturedPage (on new page 2)
DASaveAsFile (give it a new filename)