Do you own a Debenu Quick PDF Library version 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 or iSEDQuickPDF license? Upgrade to Debenu Quick PDF Library 14 today!

Debenu Quick PDF Library - PDF SDK Community Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > For Users of the Library > I need help - I can help
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - GetPageText Funcion Consumes So Much Memory
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

GetPageText Funcion Consumes So Much Memory

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
SalmaBegum View Drop Down
Team Player
Team Player
Avatar

Joined: 30 Sep 17
Status: Offline
Points: 28
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SalmaBegum Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: GetPageText Funcion Consumes So Much Memory
    Posted: 17 Sep 20 at 2:37PM
Greetings..

I have a pdf file of size 2.5mb (663 page)..

I tried to get all the page text for my project purpose. On my pc my project/function runs fine but on user pc it failed (crashed), so i tried to debug and found the function GetPageText takes lot of memory.

here is the following code that i used to debug only:


        For iPLoop As Integer = 1 To (oPDF.PageCount)
            oPDF.SelectPage(iPLoop)
            saveText2File(sAPPPath & String.Format("\wtf-{0}.txt", iPLoop), oPDF.GetPageText(7))
        Next


above code you see/ it's only save each page text directly to text file

by the time it finish it takes more than 1.5GB memory while the pdf file is only 2.5mb and all saved text tile together is 700kb (around).

any suggestion? what i am doing wrong here or is it a library bug? no one noticed yet?

thanks in advance

best regards
Back to Top
Ingo View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 05
Status: Offline
Points: 3524
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ingo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Sep 20 at 9:46PM
Is there a renderer included in your project and on your pc?
Does this renderer exist on the user pc as well or not?

Cheers,
Ingo

Back to Top
SalmaBegum View Drop Down
Team Player
Team Player
Avatar

Joined: 30 Sep 17
Status: Offline
Points: 28
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SalmaBegum Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Sep 20 at 7:23AM
Originally posted by Ingo Ingo wrote:

Is there a renderer included in your project and on your pc?
Does this renderer exist on the user pc as well or not?



thanks a lot for your reply and sorry for my late reply..

btw.. sir, nope no renderer is used at all only the QPL..

thanks in advance..

best regards
Back to Top
SalmaBegum View Drop Down
Team Player
Team Player
Avatar

Joined: 30 Sep 17
Status: Offline
Points: 28
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SalmaBegum Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Sep 20 at 10:03PM
any help please?
Back to Top
Ingo View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 05
Status: Offline
Points: 3524
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ingo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Sep 20 at 2:49PM
try the search here in the forum.
There should be some threads availabe regarding this issue.

Cheers,
Ingo

Back to Top
Ingo View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 05
Status: Offline
Points: 3524
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ingo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Sep 20 at 2:55PM
You should check where are the differences between your pc-installation and the user-installation.
What about doing an additional test on a second user-installation?
What about using other options instead of option 7 (for example option 0)?
For us here it's like looking into a glass bowl ;-)

Cheers,
Ingo

Back to Top
Sopracenery View Drop Down
Team Player
Team Player
Avatar

Joined: 31 Aug 20
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 29
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sopracenery Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Dec 20 at 2:01PM
Hi,

I checked Lib 18.11 with a loop extracting 1025 pages from QuickPDFLibrary1811.pdf and could not find any issues using Option 0, 1 and 7 with GetPageText().
No memory leaks found.

You can see only a difference in CPU consumption. Option 1 and 7 needs 30% CPU while Option 0 needs only 5% in a timer based loop.

But I did not save all the files!
Maybe there is a problem with a lot of unclosed file handles in saveText2File() which consumes more and more memory.

So the issue is probably outside QuickPDF.

Regards,
Martin


Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.01
Copyright ©2001-2014 Web Wiz Ltd.

Copyright © 2017 Debenu. Debenu Quick PDF Library is a PDF SDK. All rights reserved. AboutContactBlogSupportOnline Store